skip to content
Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight

Author: Amy Shira Teitel
Publisher: [New York, New York] : Hachette Audio, [2020] ℗2020
Edition/Format:   Audiobook on CD : CD audio : Biography : English : UnabridgedView all editions and formats
Summary:
Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman  Read more...
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Subjects
More like this

Find a copy online

Links to this item

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Genre/Form: History
Audiobooks
Biographies
Biography
Named Person: Jacqueline Cochran; Jerrie Cobb; Jerrie Cobb; Jacqueline Cochran
Material Type: Biography, Audio book, etc., Internet resource
Document Type: Sound Recording, Internet Resource
All Authors / Contributors: Amy Shira Teitel
ISBN: 9781549121005 1549121006
OCLC Number: 1132823248
Notes: Title from container.
"Includes a PDF of photos"--Container
Performer(s): Read by the author.
Description: 9 audio discs (approximately 11 hr.) ; 4 3/4 in.
Responsibility: Amy Shira Teitel.

Abstract:

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space. But along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. A dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time

Reviews

User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1132823248<\/a>> # Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:SoundRecording<\/a>, schema:CreativeWork<\/a>, bgn:CD<\/a>, schema:Book<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"1132823248<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/629.13092520973\/e23\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/cobb_jerrie<\/a>> ; # Jerrie Cobb<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Place\/united_states<\/a>> ; # United States.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/aeronautics<\/a>> ; # Aeronautics<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/aeronautics_united_states_history_20th_century<\/a>> ; # Aeronautics--United States--History--20th century<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/women_air_pilots<\/a>> ; # Women air pilots<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Event\/1900_1999<\/a>> ; # 1900-1999<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/women_air_pilots_united_states<\/a>> ; # Women air pilots--United States<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/cochran_jacqueline<\/a>> ; # Jacqueline Cochran<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/biography_&_autobiography_adventurers_&_explorers<\/a>> ; # BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY--Adventurers & Explorers<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:author<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/teitel_amy_shira<\/a>> ; # Amy Shira Teitel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookEdition<\/a> \"Unabridged.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:AudioBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:copyrightYear<\/a> \"2020<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:creator<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/teitel_amy_shira<\/a>> ; # Amy Shira Teitel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2020<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube\'s \"Vintage Space\" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives\' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space. But along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. A dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/9945761040<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Biography<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Audiobooks<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"History<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Biographies<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"1132823248<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/www.recordedbooks.com\/title-details\/9781549121005<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/d2cv0ie6dlin9h.cloudfront.net\/DD48205\/DD48205_image_148x230.jpg<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781549121005<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1132823248<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/629.13092520973\/e23\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Event\/1900_1999<\/a>> # 1900-1999<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Event<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"1900-1999<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/cobb_jerrie<\/a>> # Jerrie Cobb<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Cobb<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Jerrie<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Jerrie Cobb<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/cochran_jacqueline<\/a>> # Jacqueline Cochran<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Cochran<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Jacqueline<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Jacqueline Cochran<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Person\/teitel_amy_shira<\/a>> # Amy Shira Teitel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Teitel<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Amy Shira<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Amy Shira Teitel<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Place\/united_states<\/a>> # United States.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"United States.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/aeronautics<\/a>> # Aeronautics<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Aeronautics<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/aeronautics_united_states_history_20th_century<\/a>> # Aeronautics--United States--History--20th century<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Aeronautics--United States--History--20th century<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/biography_&_autobiography_adventurers_&_explorers<\/a>> # BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY--Adventurers & Explorers<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY--Adventurers & Explorers<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/women_air_pilots<\/a>> # Women air pilots<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Women air pilots<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9945761040#Topic\/women_air_pilots_united_states<\/a>> # Women air pilots--United States<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Women air pilots--United States<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"nyu<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781549121005<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"1549121006<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9781549121005<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1132823248<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \ngenont:InformationResource<\/a>, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1132823248<\/a>> ; # Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:dateModified<\/a> \"2020-09-21<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nvoid:inDataset<\/a> <http:\/\/purl.oclc.org\/dataset\/WorldCat<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Content-negotiable representations<\/p>\n