Let nobody turn us around : voices of resistance, reform, and renewal : an African American anthology (eBook, 2009) [WorldCat.org]
skip to content
Let nobody turn us around : voices of resistance, reform, and renewal : an African American anthology Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

Let nobody turn us around : voices of resistance, reform, and renewal : an African American anthology

Author: Manning Marable; Leith Mullings
Publisher: Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, ©2009.
Edition/Format:   eBook : Document : English : 2nd edView all editions and formats
This anthology of black writers traces the evolution of African-American perspectives throughout American history, from the early years of slavery to the end of the 20th century. The essays, manifestos, interviews, and documents assembled here, contextualized with critical commentaries from Marable and Mullings, introduce the reader to the character and important controversies of each period of black history. The  Read more...

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy online

Links to this item

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Genre/Form: Electronic book
Electronic books
Additional Physical Format: Print version:
Let nobody turn us around
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, c2009.
(DLC) 2009005113
Material Type: Document, Internet resource
Document Type: Internet Resource, Computer File
All Authors / Contributors: Manning Marable; Leith Mullings
ISBN: 9780742565456 0742565459 1282496794 9781282496798 9786612496790 6612496797
OCLC Number: 1253438825
Language Note: English.
Reproduction Notes: Electronic reproduction. [Place of publication not identified] : HathiTrust Digital Library, 2010. MiAaHDL
Description: 1 online resource (xxix, 676 p.)
Details: Master and use copy. Digital master created according to Benchmark for Faithful Digital Reproductions of Monographs and Serials, Version 1. Digital Library Federation, December 2002.
Contents: PREFACE TO THE FIRST EDITION; PREFACE TO THE SECOND EDITION; INTRODUCTION; SECTION 1. Foundations: Slavery and Abolitionism, 1768-1861; SECTION 2. Reconstruction and Reaction: The Aftermath of Slavery and the Dawn of Segregation, 1861-1915; SECTION 3. From Plantation to Ghetto: The Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, and World War, 1915-1954; SECTION 4. We Shall Overcome: The Second Reconstruction, 1954-1975; SECTION 5. The Future in the Present: Contemporary African-American Thought, 1975 to the Present; Permissions; Index; About the Editors.
Responsibility: editors, Manning Marable, Leith Mullings.


One of America's most prominent historians and a noted feminist bring together the most important political writings and testimonials from African-Americans over three centuries.  Read more...


Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

Praise for the first edition: No other anthology so fully incorporates views from African American women as well as men, workers as well as intellectuals, and individuals from diverse political Read more...

User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.