skip to content
Covid-19 virus
COVID-19 Resources

Reliable information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) is available from the World Health Organization (current situation, international travel). Numerous and frequently-updated resource results are available from this WorldCat.org search. OCLC’s WebJunction has pulled together information and resources to assist library staff as they consider how to handle coronavirus issues in their communities.

Image provided by: CDC/ Alissa Eckert, MS; Dan Higgins, MAM
A man in love : a novel Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

A man in love : a novel

Author: Martin Walser; David B Dollenmayer
Publisher: New York : Arcade Publishing, [2019] ©2019
Edition/Format:   Print book : Fiction : English : First English-language editionView all editions and formats
Summary:
"For readers of Colm Toibin's The Master and Michael Cunningham's The Hours, a witty, moving, tender novel of impossible love and the mysterious ways of art. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe is so famous his servant auctions off snippets of his hair and children and adults recite from his many works by memory. When he was a young poet, his first novel, a story of love and romantic fervor ending in suicide, was an  Read more...
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Subjects
More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Genre/Form: Romance fiction
Historical fiction
Fiction
Additional Physical Format: Online version:
Walser, Martin, 1927- author.
Man in love
New York : Arcade Publishing, [2019]
(DLC) 2019011255
Named Person: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe; Ulrike von Levetzow; Johann Wolfgang von Goethe; Ulrike von Levetzow
Material Type: Fiction
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Martin Walser; David B Dollenmayer
ISBN: 9781628728736 1628728736
OCLC Number: 1089840270
Language Note: Translated from the German.
Description: 283 pages ; 22 cm
Other Titles: Liebender Mann.
Responsibility: Martin Walser ; translated from the German by David Dollenmayer.

Abstract:

For readers of Colm Toibin's The Master and Michael Cunningham's The Hours, a witty, moving, tender novel of impossible love and the mysterious ways of art.  Read more...

Reviews

Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

An International Bestseller "This beautiful novel depicts the elderly Goethe's feverish infatuation with a young woman, an obsession that led him to compose the 'Marienbad Elegy.' Goethe, Read more...

 
User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1089840270<\/a>> # A man in love : a novel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:CreativeWork<\/a>, schema:Book<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nbgn:translationOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1089840270#CreativeWork\/unidentifiedOriginalWork<\/a>> ; # Liebender Mann.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"1089840270<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/833.914\/e23\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/goethe_johann_wolfgang_von_1749_1832<\/a>> ; # Johann Wolfgang von Goethe<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/levetzow_ulrike_von_1804_1899<\/a>> ; # Ulrike von Levetzow<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:author<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/walser_martin_1927<\/a>> ; # Martin Walser<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookEdition<\/a> \"First English-language edition.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:PrintBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:contributor<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/dollenmayer_david_b<\/a>> ; # David B. Dollenmayer<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:copyrightYear<\/a> \"2019<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2019<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"\"For readers of Colm Toibin\'s The Master and Michael Cunningham\'s The Hours, a witty, moving, tender novel of impossible love and the mysterious ways of art. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe is so famous his servant auctions off snippets of his hair and children and adults recite from his many works by memory. When he was a young poet, his first novel, a story of love and romantic fervor ending in suicide, was an international blockbuster that set off a wave of self-inflicted deaths across Europe. Now seventy-three, sought after and busy with scientific pursuits and responsibilities to the Grand Duke, he has fallen in love with a nineteen-year-old, Ulrike von Levetzov. Infatuated, at the spa in Marienbad, he seeks her out. They exchange glances, witty words. In the social swirl, they find each other. On the promenade, they parade together arm in arm. Time spent away from her is sleepless, and when they kiss, it is in the \'Goethian\' way, from his books: a matter of souls, not mouths or lips. And yet, his years fail him. At an afternoon tea party, a younger man tries to seduce her. At a costume ball, he collapses. When he proposes nonetheless, Ulrike and her mother are already preparing to leave. Caught in a storm of emotion and torn between despair and unwillingness to give up hope, he begins an elegy in his coach as he pursues her: \'The Marienbad Elegy,\' one of his last great works\"--<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/348615776<\/a>> ; # Liebender Mann.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Historical fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Romance fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isSimilarTo<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#CreativeWork\/man_in_love<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"A man in love : a novel<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"1089840270<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781628728736<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1089840270<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/833.914\/e23\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/dollenmayer_david_b<\/a>> # David B. Dollenmayer<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Dollenmayer<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"David B.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"David B. Dollenmayer<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/goethe_johann_wolfgang_von_1749_1832<\/a>> # Johann Wolfgang von Goethe<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:birthDate<\/a> \"1749<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:deathDate<\/a> \"1832<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Goethe<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Johann Wolfgang von<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Johann Wolfgang von Goethe<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/levetzow_ulrike_von_1804_1899<\/a>> # Ulrike von Levetzow<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:birthDate<\/a> \"1804<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:deathDate<\/a> \"1899<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Levetzow<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Ulrike von<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Ulrike von Levetzow<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#Person\/walser_martin_1927<\/a>> # Martin Walser<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:birthDate<\/a> \"1927<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Walser<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Martin<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Martin Walser<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"nyu<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/348615776#CreativeWork\/man_in_love<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:CreativeWork<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nrdfs:label<\/a> \"Man in love<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"Online version:<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isSimilarTo<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1089840270<\/a>> ; # A man in love : a novel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/348615776<\/a>> # Liebender Mann.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Liebender Mann.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781628728736<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"1628728736<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9781628728736<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1089840270<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \ngenont:InformationResource<\/a>, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1089840270<\/a>> ; # A man in love : a novel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:dateModified<\/a> \"2020-01-28<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nvoid:inDataset<\/a> <http:\/\/purl.oclc.org\/dataset\/WorldCat<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n