skip to content
Mozart Preview this item
ClosePreview this item


Author: Simon P Keefe
Publisher: Farnham, Surrey : Ashgate Publishing Limited, [2015]
Series: The late eighteenth-century composers
Edition/Format:   Print book : Biography : EnglishView all editions and formats

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Genre/Form: Biography
Criticism, interpretation, etc
Named Person: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Material Type: Biography
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Simon P Keefe
ISBN: 9781472444059 1472444051
OCLC Number: 913557598
Description: xx, 565 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.
Contents: Contents: Introduction. Part I Biographical Perspectives: Mozart and Salzburg, Cliff Eisen; Court, government and society in Mozart's Vienna, Derek Beales; Mozart's appointment to the Viennese court, Dorothea Link; Mozart in the market place, Julia Moore; The Rochlitz anecdotes: issues of authenticity in early Mozart biography, Maynard Solomon. Part II Vocal Music: Contexts and Interpretations: Goldoni, Opera Buffa, and Mozart's advent in Vienna, Daniel Heartz; Sentimental and anti-sentimental in Le nozze di Figaro, Stefano Castelvecchi; The fandango scene in Mozart's Le nozze di Figaro, Dorothea Link; Mozart's felix culpa: Cosi fan tutte and the irony of beauty, Scott Burnham; Mozart and the theater auf der Wieden: new attributions and perspectives, David J. Buch; Requiem, but no piece, Thomas Bauman. Part III Instrumental Music: Sources and Influences: Haydn and Mozart's 1773 stay in Vienna: weeding a musicological garden, A. Peter Brown; The sincerest form of flattery? Mozart's `Haydn' quartets and the question of influence, Mark Evan Bonds; Cadenza contra text: Mozart in Beethoven's hands, Richard Kramer; Another look at the `corrupt passage' in Mozart's G minor Symphony K. 550: its sources, `solution' and implications for the composition of the final trilogy, Cliff Eisen; `We hardly knew what we should pay attention to first': Mozart the performer-composer at work on the Viennese piano concertos, Simon P. Keefe. Part IV Performance: Performance practice in the music of Mozart, Robert D. Levin; Manuscript parts as evidence of orchestral size in the 18th-century Viennese concerto, Dexter Edge; `Ich praeludirte und spielte Variazionen: Mozart the fortepianist, Katalin Komlos. Name Index.
Series Title: The late eighteenth-century composers
Responsibility: edited by Simon P. Keefe.


User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data

Primary Entity

<> # Mozart
    a schema:Book, schema:CreativeWork ;
   library:oclcnum "913557598" ;
   library:placeOfPublication <> ;
   schema:about <> ; # Music--Austria--18th century--History and criticism
   schema:about <> ; # Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
   schema:about <> ; # 1700 - 1799
   schema:about <> ; # Composers--Austria
   schema:about <> ; # Austria.
   schema:about <> ; # Music
   schema:about <> ;
   schema:about <> ;
   schema:about <> ; # Composers
   schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
   schema:datePublished "2015" ;
   schema:editor <> ; # Simon P. Keefe
   schema:exampleOfWork <> ;
   schema:genre "Biographies"@en ;
   schema:genre "Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en ;
   schema:genre "Biography"@en ;
   schema:inLanguage "en" ;
   schema:isPartOf <> ; # The late eighteenth-century composers
   schema:name "Mozart"@en ;
   schema:productID "913557598" ;
   schema:workExample <> ;
   umbel:isLike <> ;
   wdrs:describedby <> ;

Related Entities

<> # Simon P. Keefe
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:birthDate "1968" ;
   schema:familyName "Keefe" ;
   schema:givenName "Simon P." ;
   schema:name "Simon P. Keefe" ;

<> # Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:birthDate "1756" ;
   schema:deathDate "1791" ;
   schema:familyName "Mozart" ;
   schema:givenName "Wolfgang Amadeus" ;
   schema:name "Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart" ;

<> # The late eighteenth-century composers
    a bgn:PublicationSeries ;
   schema:hasPart <> ; # Mozart
   schema:name "The late eighteenth-century composers" ;

<> # Music--Austria--18th century--History and criticism
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Music--Austria--18th century--History and criticism"@en ;

    a schema:ProductModel ;
   schema:isbn "1472444051" ;
   schema:isbn "9781472444059" ;

Content-negotiable representations

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.