Shadows of the workhouse (eBook, 2008) []
skip to content
Shadows of the workhouse

Shadows of the workhouse

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: London : Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2008.
Series: Call the midwife (Television program)
Edition/Format:   eBook : Document : EnglishView all editions and formats
The Call the midwife trilogy is comprised of Call the midwife (not included here, c2002), Shadows of the workhouse (this book, c2005), and Farewell to the East End (not included here, c2009). Together, this series chronicles Jennifer Worth's career as a midwife from start to finish, from her arrival in the war-scarred Docklands as a wide-eyed trainee, to the demolition of the tenements and subsequent closure of  Read more...

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy online

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Genre/Form: Electronic books
Additional Physical Format: Print version:
Worth, Jennifer, 1935-
Shadows of the workhouse.
London : Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2008
(DLC) 2008472380
Material Type: Document, Internet resource
Document Type: Internet Resource, Computer File
All Authors / Contributors: Jennifer Worth
ISBN: 9780062270054 0062270052
OCLC Number: 608705036
Reproduction Notes: Electronic reproduction. [Place of publication not identified] : HathiTrust Digital Library, 2010. MiAaHDL
Description: 1 online resource (294 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates) : illustrations
Details: Master and use copy. Digital master created according to Benchmark for Faithful Digital Reproductions of Monographs and Serials, Version 1. Digital Library Federation, December 2002.
Contents: pt. I. Workhouse Children --
Nonnatus House --
The Rise of the Workhouse --
Jane --
Sir Ian Astor-Smaleigh --
A Day to Remember --
Frank --
Billingsgate --
A Coster Lad --
Peggy --
Till Death Us Do Part --
And the Meek Shall Inherit the Earth --
pt. II. The Trial of Sister Monica Joan --
Sister Monica Joan --
Phossy Jaw --
Monopoly --
Aunt Anne --
Recreation Hour --
The Trial --
pt. III. The Old Soldier --
Mr. Joseph Collett --
Young Joe --
The Recruiting Sergeant --
Army Life --
South Africa 1899-1902 --
France 1914-1918 --
London 1939-1945 --
The Shadow of the Workhouse --
The Last Post.
Series Title: Call the midwife (Television program)
Responsibility: Jennifer Worth.


A fascinating slice of social history, London's east end in the 1950s, from the author of Call the Midwife  Read more...


Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

'Worth is a vivid writer with a talent for the sting in the tail... a highly readable book - and a must for social planners.' EVENING STANDARD 'Jennifer Worth has a gift for storytelling and a keen Read more...

User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.