skip to content
Covid-19 virus
COVID-19 Resources

Reliable information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) is available from the World Health Organization (current situation, international travel). Numerous and frequently-updated resource results are available from this WorldCat.org search. OCLC’s WebJunction has pulled together information and resources to assist library staff as they consider how to handle coronavirus issues in their communities.

Image provided by: CDC/ Alissa Eckert, MS; Dan Higgins, MAM
Sidetracked : why our decisions get derailed, and how we can stick to the plan Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

Sidetracked : why our decisions get derailed, and how we can stick to the plan

Author: Francesca Gino
Publisher: Boston : Harvard Business Review Press, ©2013.
Edition/Format:   Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats
Summary:
A psychologist and business professor takes an in-depth look at decision-making, explaining the pitfalls people can avoid to stay on track with their decisions and reach their goals.
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Subjects
More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Genre/Form: Nonfiction
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Francesca Gino
ISBN: 9781422142691 1422142698
OCLC Number: 807028907
Description: viii, 260 pages ; 25 cm
Contents: Introduction: what gets us off track? --
Forces from within --
Better than Mother Theresa: inaccurate views of ourselves --
The unreliable motorcycle racer: infectious emotions --
What the cracked pot couldn't see: an overly narrow focus --
Forces from our relationships --
How to draw an e on your forehead: lack of perspective taking --
The curse of the blue t-shirt: insidious social bonds --
The power of stickers: salient social comparisons --
Forces from the outside --
They're not as dumb as you think they are: irrelevant information --
Traveling to Europe on pudding: subtle changes in framing --
Cheaters in sunglasses : ambiance and opportunity --
Conclusion: sticking to the plan.
Responsibility: Francesca Gino.

Abstract:

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help readers better understand the nuances of decisions and how they get derailed--so there is more control to keep them on track.  Read more...

Reviews

Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

"Similar to Chip and Dan Heath's Made To Stick and Malcolm Gladwell's The Tipping Point, this book will appeal to those looking to build their business platform." -- Library Journal "Thoroughly Read more...

 
User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.

Similar Items

Related Subjects:(6)

User lists with this item (3)

Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/807028907<\/a>> # Sidetracked : why our decisions get derailed, and how we can stick to the plan<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Book<\/a>, schema:CreativeWork<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"807028907<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/mau<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/dbpedia.org\/resource\/Boston<\/a>> ; # Boston<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/153.83\/e23\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/id.worldcat.org\/fast\/889035<\/a>> ; # Decision making<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/authorities\/classification\/BF448<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/risiko<\/a>> ; # Risiko<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/entscheidung_bei_unsicherheit<\/a>> ; # Entscheidung bei Unsicherheit<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/decision_making<\/a>> ; # Decision Making<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/entscheidung<\/a>> ; # Entscheidung<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/entscheidungsfindung<\/a>> ; # Entscheidungsfindung<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:PrintBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:copyrightYear<\/a> \"2013<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:creator<\/a> <http:\/\/viaf.org\/viaf\/263828222<\/a>> ; # Francesca Gino<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2013<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"A psychologist and business professor takes an in-depth look at decision-making, explaining the pitfalls people can avoid to stay on track with their decisions and reach their goals.<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"Introduction: what gets us off track? -- Forces from within -- Better than Mother Theresa: inaccurate views of ourselves -- The unreliable motorcycle racer: infectious emotions -- What the cracked pot couldn\'t see: an overly narrow focus -- Forces from our relationships -- How to draw an e on your forehead: lack of perspective taking -- The curse of the blue t-shirt: insidious social bonds -- The power of stickers: salient social comparisons -- Forces from the outside -- They\'re not as dumb as you think they are: irrelevant information -- Traveling to Europe on pudding: subtle changes in framing -- Cheaters in sunglasses : ambiance and opportunity -- Conclusion: sticking to the plan.<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/1365285257<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Nonfiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Sidetracked : why our decisions get derailed, and how we can stick to the plan<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"807028907<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:publication<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/807028907#PublicationEvent\/boston_harvard_business_review_press_2013<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:publisher<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Agent\/harvard_business_review_press<\/a>> ; # Harvard Business Review Press<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781422142691<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\numbel:isLike<\/a> <http:\/\/bnb.data.bl.uk\/id\/resource\/GBB356787<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/807028907<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dbpedia.org\/resource\/Boston<\/a>> # Boston<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Boston<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/153.83\/e23\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Agent\/harvard_business_review_press<\/a>> # Harvard Business Review Press<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:Agent<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Harvard Business Review Press<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/decision_making<\/a>> # Decision Making<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Decision Making<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/entscheidung<\/a>> # Entscheidung<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Entscheidung<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/entscheidung_bei_unsicherheit<\/a>> # Entscheidung bei Unsicherheit<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Entscheidung bei Unsicherheit<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/entscheidungsfindung<\/a>> # Entscheidungsfindung<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Entscheidungsfindung<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1365285257#Topic\/risiko<\/a>> # Risiko<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Risiko<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/authorities\/classification\/BF448<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/mau<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"mau<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.worldcat.org\/fast\/889035<\/a>> # Decision making<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Decision making<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/viaf.org\/viaf\/263828222<\/a>> # Francesca Gino<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Gino<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Francesca<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Francesca Gino<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781422142691<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"1422142698<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9781422142691<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/807028907<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \ngenont:InformationResource<\/a>, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/807028907<\/a>> ; # Sidetracked : why our decisions get derailed, and how we can stick to the plan<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:dateModified<\/a> \"2019-05-05<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nvoid:inDataset<\/a> <http:\/\/purl.oclc.org\/dataset\/WorldCat<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n