skip to content
Sorcerer of the Crown Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

Sorcerer of the Crown

Author: Zen Cho
Publisher: New York : Pan Books Ltd, 2016.
Series: Sorcerer royal, 1
Edition/Format:   Print book : Fiction : English
Summary:
English magic faces its darkest hour. In Regency London, Zacharias Wythe is England's first African Sorcerer Royal. But how can he enjoy his position, while a faction schemes to remove him? He's also haunted by his dead mentor, and the Fairy Court is refusing to supply England with magic ... just when the government demands it for their blasted French war. Ambitious orphan Prunella is determined to escape a life of  Read more...
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Subjects
More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Genre/Form: Fiction
Fantasy fiction
Material Type: Fiction
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Zen Cho
ISBN: 9781447299462 1447299469
OCLC Number: 1004940080
Awards: Winner of British Fantasy Award Best Newcomer 2016 (UK)
Short-listed for Locus Award Best First Novel 2016 (UK)
Short-listed for British Fantasy Awards Best Fantasy Novel 2016 (UK)
Description: 371 p. ; 20 cm.
Series Title: Sorcerer royal, 1
Responsibility: yZen Cho.

Abstract:

A treat for fans of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norell and Georgette Heyer.  Read more...

Reviews

Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it * Kate Elliott * Fabulous! If you like Austen or Read more...

 
User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1004940080<\/a>> # Sorcerer of the Crown<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:CreativeWork<\/a>, schema:Book<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"1004940080<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/dbpedia.org\/resource\/New_York_City<\/a>> ; # New York<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magic<\/a>> ; # Magic<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magic_england<\/a>> ; # Magic--England<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Place\/england<\/a>> ; # England.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magicians<\/a>> ; # Magicians<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magicians_england<\/a>> ; # Magicians--England<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:PrintBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:creator<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Person\/cho_zen<\/a>> ; # Zen Cho<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2016<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"English magic faces its darkest hour. In Regency London, Zacharias Wythe is England\'s first African Sorcerer Royal. But how can he enjoy his position, while a faction schemes to remove him? He\'s also haunted by his dead mentor, and the Fairy Court is refusing to supply England with magic ... just when the government demands it for their blasted French war. Ambitious orphan Prunella is determined to escape a life of drudgery. So when the beleaguered Sorcerer Royal visits the school where she works, she seizes her opportunity. Prunella\'s stumbled upon the greatest magical discovery in centuries - and intends to use it. The last thing Zacharias needs is a female magical prodigy! But together, they could change sorcery forever. - Publishers description.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/3377122905<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fiction<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fantasy fiction<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isPartOf<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Series\/sorcerer_royal<\/a>> ; # Sorcerer royal ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Sorcerer of the Crown<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:numberOfPages<\/a> \"371<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"1004940080<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:publication<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1004940080#PublicationEvent\/new_york_pan_books_ltd_2016<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:publisher<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Agent\/pan_books_ltd<\/a>> ; # Pan Books Ltd<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781447299462<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1004940080<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dbpedia.org\/resource\/New_York_City<\/a>> # New York<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"New York<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Agent\/pan_books_ltd<\/a>> # Pan Books Ltd<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:Agent<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Pan Books Ltd<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Person\/cho_zen<\/a>> # Zen Cho<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Cho<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Zen<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Zen Cho<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Place\/england<\/a>> # England.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"England.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Series\/sorcerer_royal<\/a>> # Sorcerer royal ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:PublicationSeries<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:hasPart<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1004940080<\/a>> ; # Sorcerer of the Crown<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Sorcerer royal ;<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magic<\/a>> # Magic<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Magic<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magic_england<\/a>> # Magic--England<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Magic--England<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magicians<\/a>> # Magicians<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Magicians<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Topic\/magicians_england<\/a>> # Magicians--England<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Magicians--England<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"nyu<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781447299462<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"1447299469<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9781447299462<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1004940080<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \ngenont:InformationResource<\/a>, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1004940080<\/a>> ; # Sorcerer of the Crown<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:dateModified<\/a> \"2019-04-06<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nvoid:inDataset<\/a> <http:\/\/purl.oclc.org\/dataset\/WorldCat<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1004940080#PublicationEvent\/new_york_pan_books_ltd_2016<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:PublicationEvent<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:location<\/a> <http:\/\/dbpedia.org\/resource\/New_York_City<\/a>> ; # New York<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:organizer<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/3377122905#Agent\/pan_books_ltd<\/a>> ; # Pan Books Ltd<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:startDate<\/a> \"2016<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Content-negotiable representations<\/p>\n