skip to content
Vanni. A family's struggle through the Sri Lankan conflict. Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

Vanni. A family's struggle through the Sri Lankan conflict.

Author: Benjamin Dix; Lindsay Pollock
Publisher: University Park : Pennsylvania State University Press 2019.
Series: Graphic medicine, 16.
Edition/Format:   Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats
Summary:
In the tradition of Maus, Persepolis, Palestine, and The Breadwinner, Vanni is a graphic novel documenting the human side of the conflict between the Sri Lankan government and the "Tamil Tigers." Told from the perspective of a single family, it takes readers through the otherwise unimaginable struggles, horrors, and life-changing decisions families and individuals are forced to make when caught up in someone else's  Read more...
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Benjamin Dix; Lindsay Pollock
ISBN: 9780271084978 0271084979
OCLC Number: 1131903243
Description: 240 pages
Series Title: Graphic medicine, 16.
Responsibility: Benjamin Dix; Lindsay Pollock.

Abstract:

A graphic novel documenting the turmoil of a family trapped in the crossfire between the Sri Lankan army and the Tamil Tigers during the country's civil war.  Read more...

Reviews

Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

"At nearly 260 intricately crafted pages Vanni is a powerful and thorough examination of events that is never an easy read but is always a crucially important one."-Andy Oliver, Broken Frontier "Many Read more...

 
User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1131903243<\/a>> # Vanni. A family\'s struggle through the Sri Lankan conflict.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Book<\/a>, schema:CreativeWork<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"1131903243<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/xxu<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Place\/university_park<\/a>> ; # University Park<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/950\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:PrintBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:contributor<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Person\/pollock_lindsay<\/a>> ; # Lindsay Pollock<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:creator<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Person\/dix_benjamin<\/a>> ; # Benjamin Dix<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2019<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"In the tradition of Maus, Persepolis, Palestine, and The Breadwinner, Vanni is a graphic novel documenting the human side of the conflict between the Sri Lankan government and the \"Tamil Tigers.\" Told from the perspective of a single family, it takes readers through the otherwise unimaginable struggles, horrors, and life-changing decisions families and individuals are forced to make when caught up in someone else\'s war. Set in Vanni, the northern region of Sri Lanka that was devastated by the civil war, this graphic novel follows the Ramachandran family as they flee their home after the 2004 tsunami and move from one displacement camp to the next, seeking an ever-elusive safe haven and struggling to keep each other alive. Inspired by Benjamin Dix\'s experience working in Sri Lanka for the United Nations during the war, Vanni draws on more than four years of meticulous research, official reports, and first-hand interviews with refugees. It depicts heroic acts of kindness and horrific acts of violence, memorializing the experiences of the Tamil civilians against the forces that seek to erase their memory. Elegantly drawn by Lindsay Pollock, this exceptionally moving graphic novel portrays the personal experiences of modern warfare, the process of forced migration, and the struggles of seeking asylum in Europe.<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/9405868241<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isPartOf<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Series\/graphic_medicine<\/a>> ; # Graphic medicine ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Vanni. A family\'s struggle through the Sri Lankan conflict.<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"1131903243<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:publication<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1131903243#PublicationEvent\/university_park_pennsylvania_state_university_press2019<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:publisher<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Agent\/pennsylvania_state_university_press<\/a>> ; # Pennsylvania State University Press<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780271084978<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1131903243<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/950\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Agent\/pennsylvania_state_university_press<\/a>> # Pennsylvania State University Press<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:Agent<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Pennsylvania State University Press<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Person\/dix_benjamin<\/a>> # Benjamin Dix<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Dix<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Benjamin<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Benjamin Dix<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Person\/pollock_lindsay<\/a>> # Lindsay Pollock<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Pollock<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Lindsay<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Lindsay Pollock<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Place\/university_park<\/a>> # University Park<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"University Park<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Series\/graphic_medicine<\/a>> # Graphic medicine ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:PublicationSeries<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:hasPart<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1131903243<\/a>> ; # Vanni. A family\'s struggle through the Sri Lankan conflict.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Graphic medicine ;<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Graphic Medicine<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/xxu<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"xxu<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780271084978<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"0271084979<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9780271084978<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1131903243<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \ngenont:InformationResource<\/a>, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1131903243<\/a>> ; # Vanni. A family\'s struggle through the Sri Lankan conflict.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:dateModified<\/a> \"2020-05-23<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nvoid:inDataset<\/a> <http:\/\/purl.oclc.org\/dataset\/WorldCat<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1131903243#PublicationEvent\/university_park_pennsylvania_state_university_press2019<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:PublicationEvent<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:location<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Place\/university_park<\/a>> ; # University Park<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:organizer<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/9405868241#Agent\/pennsylvania_state_university_press<\/a>> ; # Pennsylvania State University Press<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:startDate<\/a> \"2019<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Content-negotiable representations<\/p>\n