The victory of Sinn Féin : how it won it and how it used it (Book, 1998) []
skip to content
New coming soon
The victory of Sinn Féin : how it won it and how it used it

The victory of Sinn Féin : how it won it and how it used it

Author: P S O'Hegarty
Publisher: Dublin : University College Dublin Press, 1998.
Series: Classics of Irish history.
Edition/Format:   Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats

"The Victory of Sinn Fein", originally published in 1924, contains eyewitness accounts of the events in Ireland 1916-23, written from the viewpoint of the Irish Republican Brotherhood.

More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Additional Physical Format: Online version:
O'Hegarty, P.S. (Patrick Sarsfield), 1879-1955.
Victory of Sinn Féin.
Dublin : University College Dublin Press, 1998
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: P S O'Hegarty
ISBN: 1900621177 9781900621175
OCLC Number: 40228896
Notes: Originally published: Dublin : Talbot Press, 1924.
Description: xviii, 164 pages : illustrations ; 19 cm.
Contents: Introduction / Tom Garvin --
Preface / P. S. O'Hegarty --
I. The Insurrection of 1916 --
II. The Re-Emergence of Sinn Fein (1916-18) --
III. The Irish Republican Brotherhood (1858-1916) --
IV. De Valera (1916-1919) --
V. Mick Collins (1909-1921) --
VI. Dail Eireann (1919) --
VII. The Sinn Fein Policy in Practice (1919-1921) --
VIII. The Black-and-Tan War (1920-21) --
IX. The New Griffith (1916-1921) --
X. The Crime of the Ulster Boycott (1920) --
XI. The Moral Collapse (1920-21) --
XII. The Surrender of England (24th June, 1921) --
XIII. The Truce (1921) --
XIV. The Great Betrayal (7th December, 1921) --
XV. The Great Mistake (1919) --
XVI. The Great Talk (December, 1921-January, 1922) --
XVII. The Position Created by the Truce and the Treaty (January, 1922) --
XVIII. The Pseudo-Republicans (1922) --
XIX. The Furies (1922) --
XX. Mary Macswiney --
"Sea-Green Incorruptible" --
XXI. After the Ratification (1922) --
XXII. The Irregulars (1922) --
XXIII. Devil Era (1922) --
XXIV. The War Against the Irish People (1922-23) --
XXV. The Death of Griffith (September 1922) --
XXVI. Michael Collins (September, 1922) --
XXVII. The Victory of the People (May, 1923) --
XXVIII. The Humorous Side --
XXIX. The Responsibility of Mr. De Valera --
XXX. The Irish Free State (1923) --
XXXI. How it Strikes a Contemporary --
XXXII. The Future of Ireland --
App. I. Some Prophecies Fulfilled --
App. II. Mr. Liam Lynch's Frightfulness Orders --
App. III. Mr. De Valera's First Thoughts.
Series Title: Classics of Irish history.
Responsibility: P.S. O'Hegarty ; with an introduction by Tom Garvin.


Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

"P. S. Hegarty's bitter and ferocious The Victory of Sinn Fein was published in 1924 in the immediate aftermath of the Civil War. What makes it so gripping is the clarity with which it reflects a Read more...

Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.