Weather : poems (Book, 2011) []
skip to content
Weather : poems Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

Weather : poems

Author: Dave Lucas
Publisher: Athens : University of Georgia Press, ©2011.
Series: VQR poetry series.
Edition/Format:   Print book : Poetry : State or province government publication : EnglishView all editions and formats
A collection of poems by Dave Lucas, in which he explores the landscape, seasons, terrain, and residences of Cleveland, Ohio.

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Material Type: Government publication, State or province government publication
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Dave Lucas
ISBN: 9780820338828 0820338826
OCLC Number: 671491788
Description: xii, 68 pages ; 22 cm.
Contents: Midst of a burning fiery furnace --
Beach pea --
Steelhead --
Red-tailed hawk --
Firely --
Lake Erie monster --
To the lake --
December 1678, New France --
At the Cuyahoga Flats --
River on fire --
Hulett ore unloaders --
Midwestern cities --
"They wonder at the star" --
The rain again --
Wires --
The children --
Sophomores --
For Madeleine, in another June --
Suburban pastoral --
After love --
To Alyce, on her engagement --
Epithalamium --
It will be rain tonight --
You asked what the heart can carry --
To say nothing --
On a portrait by Lucien Freud --
A sudden gust of wind --
Lives of the saints --
Orpheus, aside --
The fox --
The barber --
In Appalachia --
Letter to a friend --
Dream after news of the poet's death --
We who keep the mystery --
The dog, in the presence of wolves --
Equinox and after --
November --
All Souls Night --
Lines for winter --
Lunar calendar --
Every veyne in swich licour --
The aged --
Self-portrait --
To a shade --
In elegy --
What the talkers were talking --
Of the tragedies --
After strange gods --
Aubade --
Perchè non parli? --
The twenty-first century --
The new poetry --
Series Title: VQR poetry series.
Responsibility: by Dave Lucas.


In this debut collection, Dave Lucas turns and returns to Cleveland, where he was raised. The weather of these poems arises from both the lush light of the natural world and the hard rain of  Read more...


User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.