skip to content
The works of Shakespeare : in seven volumes : collated with the oldest copies, and corrected, with notes, explanatory, and critical Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

The works of Shakespeare : in seven volumes : collated with the oldest copies, and corrected, with notes, explanatory, and critical

Author: William ShakespeareTheobald, Mr.Jacob TonsonFrancis ClayWilliam FealesAll authors
Publisher: London : Printed for A. Bettesworth and C. Hitch, J. Tonson, F. Clay, W. Feales, and R. Wellington, MDCCXXXIII [1733]
Edition/Format:   Print book : Drama : EnglishView all editions and formats

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Genre/Form: Subscription lists (Publishing)
Criticism, interpretation, etc
Named Person: William Shakespeare; William Shakespeare
Material Type: Internet resource
Document Type: Book, Internet Resource
All Authors / Contributors: William Shakespeare; Theobald, Mr.; Jacob Tonson; Francis Clay; William Feales; Richard Wellington; Benoît Arlaud; Gaspard Duchange; A. Bettesworth and C. Hitch (Firm),
OCLC Number: 2166392
Notes: This is the large paper issue printed in 75 copies, with gutter margin of approximately 1.5 cm. There is also a small paper issue with approximate height of 21 cm and gutter margin of approximately .7 cm.
Contains the plays only.
Vol. 1 with a general title page, a volume title page, and play title pages. Volumes 2-7 with a volume half-title, a volume title page, and play title pages.
Some volume half-titles of v. 4 and 5 erroneously numbered V and IV, respectively (ESTC).
Engraved frontispiece portrait (vol. 1)--lettered: B. Arlaud del., G. Duchange scul.
With a list of subscribers in v. 1 and "A table of the several editions of Shakespeare's plays, collected by the editor" in v. 7.
Vol. 5 volume title page lists Macbeth as the third play; it is actually the final play of the volume.
Description: 7 v. : port. (engraving) ; 27 cm. (8vo)
Contents: v. 1. Tempest ; Midsummer night's dream ; Two gentlemen of Verona ; Merry wives of Windsor ; Measure for measure ; Much ado about nothing --
v. 2. Merchant of Venice ; Love's labour's lost ; As you like it ; Taming of the shrew ; All's well that ends well ; Twelfth-night --
v. 3. Comedy of errors ; Winter's tale ; King John ; King Richard II ; King Henry IV. Part 1-2 --
v. 4. Henry V ; King Henry VI. Part 1-3 ; King Richard III --
v. 5. King Henry VIII ; King Lear ; Timon of Athens ; Titus Andronicus ; Macbeth --
v. 6. Coriolanus ; Julius Caesar ; Antony and Cleopatra ; Cymbeline --
v. 7. Troilus and Cressida ; Romeo and Juliet ; Hamlet ; Othello.
Other Titles: Plays
Responsibility: by Mr. Theobald.


User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.