Front cover image for The world of Kate Roberts : selected stories, 1925-1981

The world of Kate Roberts : selected stories, 1925-1981

Kate Roberts (1891-1985) was the foremost twentieth-century prose writer in the Welsh language. She produced a considerable body of fiction, seven novels and novellas and nine collections of short stories. This book offers in English a large selection of stories, that span her long writing career.
Print Book, English, 1991
Temple University Press, Philadelphia, 1991
xxii, 372 pages ; 24 cm
9780877227946, 9780877227953, 0877227942, 0877227950
Introduction The Pronunciation of Welsh Part I: Autobiography (1960) Pictures Letters Part II: Stories (1925-1937) The Letter Provoking The Widow Old Age The Ruts of Life The Loss Between Two Pieces of Toffee Sisters The Victory of Alaw Jim The Quilt Red-Letter Day The Last Payment November Fair The Condemned Protest March Part III: Gossip Row (1949) Part IV: Tea in the Heather (1959) Grief The Spout Death of a Story Tea in the Heather A Visitor for Tea Escape to London Becoming Strangers The Card Christmas Part V: Dark Tonight (1962) Part VI: Stories (1964-1981) Cats at an Auction Buying a Doll Flowers The Journey The Battle of Christmas Two Old Men The Treasure Family Hope Return Tomorrow and Tomorrow Oh! Winni! Winni! Notes